The conference constitutes the 7th annual Symposium of the Systemic Design Research Network (SDRN), a cooperative educational group founded in 2012 which gathers together the Oslo School of Architecture and Design – AHO (Norway), the OCAD University of Toronto (Canada) and the Politecnico di Torino (Italy).

Besides the organisation of the conference, the activities of the SDRN aim to:

  • advance the practice of systemic design as an integrated discipline of systems thinking and systems-oriented design
  • advance the knowledge, theory, and publications in the domains of systems-oriented design and industrial and social systems design methods in systemic practice
  • promote the creation of relationships and the sharing of knowledge between academy and industry
  • establish a vibrant online community to keep the debate on the topic alive beyond the conference.


The RSD7 conference is hosted by the Politecnico di Torino (POLITO), one of the most prestigious public institutions at the International and Italian levels. With 4 campuses that gather more than 39.000 students and 900 between professors and researchers, Politecnico is ranked among the first 25 EU technical Universities in Engineering/Technology/Computer Science.

The Design Division of the Department of Architecture and Design (DAD), official organiser of the event, focuses its research activity on sustainable development. This line of research grew in scope since the creation of the Master Degree in 2003-2004 in Ecodesign and progressively moved towards the field of systems thinking, giving birth to the Master Degree in Systemic Design “Aurelio Peccei”, named after the founder of the Club of Rome in 2015.

The design curriculum promote research activities aimed to:

> Analyse local territory and resources to define sustainable development guidelines;

> Create open and circular productive systems;

> Explore interaction design for different users and experiences;

> Train people through bachelor degree, master degree, doctorate and external courses and workshops.


RSD7 Conference Chairs
Silvia Barbero (Politecnico di Torino), Conference chair

Claudio Germak (Politecnico di Torino), Chair on Human-centred Design
Pier Paolo Peruccio (Politecnico di Torino), Chair on Systemic Design History
Paolo Tamborrini (Politecnico di Torino), Chair on Systemic Innovation

RSD International Organizing Committee
Silvia Barbero (Politecnico di Torino)
Jenny Darzentas (University of the Aegean)
John Darzentas (University of the Aegean)
Jody Forlizzi (Carnegie Mellon University)
Tore Gulden (HIOA)
Peter Jones (OCAD University)
Harold Nelson
Amina Pereno (Politecnico di Torino)
Alex Ryan (MaRS Solutions Lab)
Birger Sevaldson (AHO)

Advisory Board
Lucia Pietroni (Università degli studi di Camerino)
Carlo Vezzoli (Politecnico di Milano)
Carlo Franzato (Escola da Indústria Criativa da Unisinos)
Elena Formia (Università di Bologna)

RSD7 Local Organizing Committee
Amina Pereno – conference manager
Eliana Ferrulli – conference manager
Eleonora Fiore
Carolina Giraldo Nohra
Flavio Montagner
Agnese Pallaro
Chiara Remondino
Barbara Stabellini
Chiara Battistoni

RSD7 De-Conference Organizing Committee
Tobias Luthe (ETH Zurich)
Dario Toso (Monviso Institute)

RSD7 Advisory Board
The RSD7 organising committee is paired with a distinguished panel of international experts sharing a variety of  backgrounds in the fields of design, systems thinking and sustainability:
Roberto Iñiguez (Tecnológico de Monterrey)
Lucia Pietroni (Università degli Studi di Camerino)
Lou Yongqi (Tongji University)
Carlo Vezzoli (Politecnico di Milano)


Scientific Partnership


Sponsor by:

Privacy Policy  – Cookie Policy